Uncapped Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer picked for New Zealand T20Is

Adjust Comment Print

Virat Kohli will lead Team India in the upcoming T20 series against New Zealand, starting from November 1 at Feroz Shah Kotla in New Delhi. If we pick a player, we will give him an extended run and we will continue with him for some point and nurture him and see that he goes on to become successful.

It is expected to be Nehra's farewell game but whether the veteran left-arm pacer will be in the playing XI will entirely be the team management's call. Fast bowler Ashish Nehra has been picked for only the first T20, to be played in Delhi, which will be his last game before retiring.

The national selectors have also chose to include Dinesh Karthik, who was named in the T20 squad against Australia. The major highlight being the two new faces included in the squad - Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj. The three T20Is with New Zealand will be played in Delhi on November 1, Rajkot on November 4 and Thiruvananthapuram on November 7. "He is doing well, he has been duly recognised and rewarded as well", he added. We have clearly communicated to the player (Ashish Nehra) and to the team management that we are only looking at him till the New Zealand series, said Prasad on including Ashish Nehra in the 16 man probable's.

However Prasad insists that Nehra's selection does not guarantee that he will play.

Donald Trump Releases 'Official Stand for the National Anthem Petition'
The rules of the league says that players "should" stand up during the Star-Spangled Banner, but does not make this mandatory. Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones said any of his players kneeling during the anthem risked being benched.

KL Rahul kept his place in the T20 squad after being dropped for the ODI series while Dinesh Karthik also retained his spot after being picked for the series against Australia.

"Iyer has been prolific across formats - in first-class, one-dayers, T20 - he's been performing consistently".

Squad for first two Tests against Sri Lanka: Virat Kohli (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-Captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Naman Ojha (capt, wk), Sanju Samson, Jiwanjot Singh, B. Sandeep, Tanmay Agarwal, Abhishek Gupta, Rohan Prem, Akash Bhandari, Jalaj Saxena, C.V. Milind, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier and Ravi Kiran.