Gujarat Assembly Elections: BJP declares second list of candidates

Adjust Comment Print

With this, the party has announced 106 candidates for elections to the 182-member Gujarat Assembly to be held in two phases on December 9 and 14. The party has denied nominations to seven legislators so far.

In another setback, a prominent leader of the Koli community from Saurashtra and sitting MLA from Kodinar, Jetha Solanki, submitted his resignation from the party.

Four women candidates found place in the list: Ramila Bara from Khedbrahma ST seat, Vibhavari Dave from Bhavnagar East, Manisha Vakil from Vadodara City SC seat, and Sangita Patil from Limbayat seat in Surat.

There are 36 names in the list of which many are new faces.

Victor Moses should be back next week - Antonio Conte
It's very important for his development, and to come back and play for Chelsea with great maturity. The midfielder was criticised in some quarters, but former Italy boss Conte can not fathom why.

Mr Paswan told newspersons here that LJP was supporting BJP in Gujarat assembly election and it would not field its candidate in the election.

Supporters of I K Jadeja, senior party leader and former minister with a strong political base in Wadhwan and Dhrangadhra constituencies in Saurashtra, gathered at BJP headquarters Kamalam in Gandhinagar and raised slogans.

The Congress list has been delayed and may be out only on Sunday as the party sources said some problems with the Hardik Patel group as its leaders camping in Delhi felt slighted at no Congress leader talking to them, not even taking their phone calls. BJP has instead fielded industrialist Dhanji Patel from the seat.

The ultimatum came hours after a meeting between Senior Congress leader Kapil Sibbal and 13 Patidar Anamat Andolan Samiti (PAAS) leaders on Friday late night ended in a stalemate. The party repeated Bhushan Bhatt from the Jamalpur-Khadia seat while Jinabhai Dedvariya will contest from Chotila. The state will go to polls in two phases on December 9 and 14. The counting of votes will be taken up on December 18.