Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield is the 2017 Heisman Trophy victor

Adjust Comment Print

The other top finalists were Lamar Jackson, the Louisville quarterback who won the 2016 Heisman, and Bryce Love, Stanford's star running back.

Mayfield is the 83rd college player to be honored with the Heisman Trophy and the sixth Oklahoma Sooner to win the award, joining Billy Vessels (1952), Steve Owens (1969), Billy Sims (1978), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008).

For Mayfield, it was the third-highest percentage of possible points received (86 percent) since 1950, behind Ohio State's Troy Smith (2006) and Oregon's Marcus Mariota (2014). He finished third nationally in passer rating in 2015, set the single-season FBS passer rating record previous year and is on pace to break his own record this season.

He was the clear standout player among teams that made the CFP, and he finished the campaign with 4,340 passing yards, 41 passing touchdowns and five interceptions, as well as 310 rushing yards and five rushing scores.

Trump slams CNN over inaccurate report
On Sept 13, the day before the email, WikiLeaks had tweeted links to what the group said was 678.4 megabytes of DNC documents. It was corrected to say that the email was actually sent on September 14, one day after WikiLeaks made the documents public.

Mayfield has 14,320 yards and 129 touchdowns though the air in his college career.

Should Mayfield win the Heisman, and he will, his next goal will be winning the Rose Bowl over Georgia and winning the College Football Playoff. If I'm an National Football League coach, I want him running my team.

"It's been a tough journey", Mayfield said. He's formed a flawless pairing with head coach Lincoln Riley, his offensive coordinator the past two years, as he established himself as a master of Oklahoma's wide-open offense with impressive arm strength, mobility and improvisational ability.

NFL.com analyst Daniel Jeremiah has noted improvement in Mayfield as a pocket passer this season, and analyst Bucky Brooks has compared him to New Orleans Saints QB Drew Brees.