Vijay Rupani takes oath as Gujarat CM, PM Modi attends

Adjust Comment Print

Rupani took oath along with nine cabinet-rank ministers, including Patel, and 10 ministers of state at the ceremony held near the state secretariat.

The new government led by Rupani took the oath of office and secrecy at a grand ceremony in Gandhinagar. Prime Minister Narendra Modi who landed in Gandhinagar, is welcomed by party chief Amit Shah and all the BJP's chief ministers.

Senior BJP leader Nima Acharya, who retained Bhuj seat, is a front-runner among women winners tipped to get a ministerial berth, said the source. He was removed from the cabinet after the Rupani government was formed a year ago.

Another new face as cabinet minister was Ishwarbhai Parmar, who was a Minster of State in the Rupani government.

Christmas Eve fire guts Middlesex home
According to Mobile Fire-Rescue, a call came out around 5:18 p.m. for a residential fire on Jessie Street in Mobile. It was kept under controll by responding fire crews from three stations and damage to the home was minimal.

Kishore Kanani, who is from Varachha Road, the epicentre of Patel quota stir in Surat, has now made his debut as a minister and sworn-in as Minister of State. Key BJP ally Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar is also present in the ceremony along with his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi.

"With the party's prominent Dalit, tribal and OBC leaders losing, Rupani is facing a challenge to build a new leadership for these sections in his government", said a senior BJP leader.

These include Nitin Patel from Mehsana in north Gujarat, Saurabh Patel from Botad, Jayesh Radadia from Jetpur and R C Faldu from Jamnagar in Saurashtra region, Kaushik Patel from Naranpura in Ahmedabad as Cabinet ministers. "My best wishes to this team in their endeavour to take Gujarat to new heights of progress", Modi said. She is also a three-time Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA).

Modi, who was Gujarat's Chief Minister between 2001 and 2014, went nostalgic and shared pictures of the ceremonies when he took oath in the past. Several union ministers including Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, and Ravi Shankar Prasad are also expected to attend Vijay Rupani's swearing-in ceremony. The bond between Gujarat and BJP is extremely special.