Chrome 69 ties Google services with browser login

Adjust Comment Print

Recent revelations circle around a scoop that with Google Chrome 69 if one person logs into any Google service such as Gmail or YouTube, that will automatically sync them into the browser. Google didn't immediately alter its privacy policy to reflect the change after launching Chrome 69.

You will not only need to sign into Chrome for this to happen, but you'll also have to explicitly opt-in to have your browsing data sent to Google through the Sync function. But Green is correct that Chrome's privacy policy didn't make the new change clear enough, and he said he'd been assured that the policy would be updated.

For years, Google allowed users of its Chrome browser to surf the web without logging in through a personal Google account.

Most users probably don't have to worry much about the change as it appears to be just a graphical change.

Google's decision to further erode its data protection policies presents an opportunity for privacy-focused companies like courageous to make further penetrate the crowded browser market.

"A few weeks ago", he writes, "Google shipped an update to Chrome that fundamentally changes the sign-in experience". However, this system worked exclusively for the logged-in Google accounts.

Jose Mourinho hints he'll play strong Manchester United squad vs Derby County
Manchester United executive vice-chairman Ed Woodward has backed Jose Mourinho despite the club's indifferent start to the season. Pogba watched from the stands as United exited the Carabao Cup in the third round for the first time since 2007.

That being said, chances are that you'll have a hard time finding the option to do unless you're a technical user. The company also dumped Google as the browser's default search engine in France and Germany, replacing it with privacy-focused search tool Qwant.

The change, which was little noticed until a security researcher blogged about it on Sunday night, has left the internet company fighting a familiar criticism: that its appetite for data to fuel its online ad business trumps its concerns about its users.

Green told Business Insider on Monday that when it comes to the browser market as a whole, Google's new login requirements makes them an outlier. She also stressed that though users are logged in to Chrome, they must still consent to a sync before their data could be transferred to Google. "The Chrome developers claim that with "sync" off, a Chrome has no privacy implications".

According to Felt, signing in to sync requires an additional step, which then uploads your browsing history to Google devices. Chrome engineers said the auto-login mechanism was added in the browser because of shared computers/browsers. The first impression some users had when seeing the new behavior - that the browser would start sending their data to Google's servers right away - has since turned out to be mistaken. "In addition to stellar security, it includes all the usual features you would expect from a mobile browser, including incognito browsing, browser bookmarks, and password management".

Blogger Bálint pointed out this unannounced change and how it could potentially cause confusion among users.

Comments