"Remove for You" will only delete the message from your side, so people wanting to permanently erase conversations from everyone in the chat will need to select the latter.
There are a few caveats though - you can only remove a message within 10 minutes of sending it and everyone else in the conversation will see a placeholder notice saying you removed a message.
As of Tuesday, the ability to delete messages from one's chat history will be rolling out around the world on iOS and Android. With this unsend feature, you can delete those messages and try again. Although in the more recent history, Facebook has been plagued with controversies over the misuse and mishandling of user data through its platform.
Oil rises on tighter supply but United States factory data weighs
U.S. sanctions on Venezuela's state oil company could also lift prices, though they have yet to trigger any sharp increase. West Texas Intermediate ( WTI ) crude futures were at $54.77 per barrel at 0223 GMT, up 21 cents or 0.4 percent.
Last year, it was reported that some of Mark Zuckerburg's earlier messages to people had been disappearing from the recipients' inboxes. With the new feature, you can quickly remove mistakes and save yourself from an embarrassing chat.
Now playing: Watch this: Facebook redesigns Messenger with AR camera effects and. Now, almost a year later, that feature is rolling out to Messenger users. You'll then be prompted to either "remove for everyone or "remove for you".
So why did Facebook settle on the 10-minute time limit?
While the news received mixed responses, Facebook said in a statement to the media that the discussions were just the beginning of a "long process". A representative also confirmed that deleted messages will eventually be removed from Facebook's servers permanently, but it will be retained for "a limited amount of time" just in case someone wants to report abuse.