AP Assembly election to be held on April 11

Adjust Comment Print

He said the prevailing situation, lack of central forces and other logistical issues prevents the Commission from holding the state assembly elections alongside the Lok Sabha polls.

The Model Code of Conduct has come into force in the entire country with the announcement of the poll schedule.

Assembly polls will be held in Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has "surrendered" before Pakistan, militants and separatists, National Conference (NC) leader Omar Abdullah said on Sunday, soon after the Election Commission's no to simultaneous assembly and Lok Sabha polls in Jammu and Kashmir.

Flanked by two election commissioners, Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra, Mr Arora said, "While finalising the election dates, exam schedules of state exam boards, CBSE, various festivals and harvest season are also adequately factored in".

Arora added that a total of 10 lakh polling booths would be put up for the elections (an increase of 1 lakh from the 2014 elections) and that VVPAT machines (used to detect election fraud) would be housed in all polling booths. "India is very proud of the EC for assiduously organising elections for several years". Counting for all the constituencies will be held on May 23. He said extensive preparations have been made for the 17th Lok Sabha polls.

Buffalo Bills Out Of Antonio Brown Trade Sweepstakes
Brown has three years remaining on his current contract, and likely will want a new deal from his new team. This, obviously, is par for the course, but the unusual part came in the comment section for the deal.

The survey conducted by India TV-CNX, between March 1 and March 7 in 193 of the 543 parliamentary constituencies, also predicted a surge of the Congress with its tally likely to nearly double compared with the last general elections.

First phase will be held on April 11, second phase on April 18, third phase on April 23, fourth phase on April 29, fifth phase on May 6, sixth phase on May 12 and seven phase on May 19.

Jammu and Kashmir will have five phases and West Bengal, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh will have seven phases.

Four states - Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Odisha - will have elections in four phases.

The Election Commission will on Saturday hold a key meeting to discuss the final modalities of Lok Sabha Elections 2019, although this has not been formally announced.

The EC also said India had gone to polls with photo electoral rolls for the first time in 2009.