Average voter turnout till 11 am for Lok Sabha polls, Assembly elections

Adjust Comment Print

The 2019 Lok Sabha elections got off to a troubled start on Thursday with reports of an IED blast in Maharashtra, EVM glitches, two rival party workers being killed in a clash in Andhra Pradesh, and multiple complaints from voters about their names not being on the electoral list.

Google has a doodle as the 17th Lok Sabha elections begin. Beside General elections polling, people in Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Andhra Pradesh and Odisha will also cast their vote for their respective assembly elections. Counting of votes will be done on May 23.

Elections 2019: Since 2014, what has PM Narendra Modi spoken about?

Union ministers V K Singh and Mahesh Sharma are BJP candidates in Ghaziabad and Gautam Budh Nagar, respectively.

Polling for all 25 Lok Sabha and 175 assembly seats will be held simultaneously.

India election SHOCK: Alliance to LOSE majority despite support over Pakistan tensions
It will also work to cut tax and boost credit to small businesses to 1 trillion rupees ($14.4 billion) by 2024. But political leaders in Muslim-majority Kashmir have warned that repealing the law could lead to unrest.

A total of four parliamentary constituencies (Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput) and 28 corresponding assembly constituencies will go to polls in the first phase tomorrow.

The BJP-led government has been criticised for failing to control Right-wing fringe groups and rein in so-called "cow vigilantes" that have gone on overdrive, leading to multiple instances of mob killings across the country.

Lok election polling is scheduled to hold in 7 phase from April 11 to May 19.

Two seats each in West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir and Meghalaya will see polling in the first phase.

The fate of 52 candidates will be decided by over 78 lakh voters of the state, where all the five seats - Tehri, Pauri, Haridwar, Almora and Nainital - are being held by the BJP.