Zach Johnson has unfortunate Masters gaffe - Masters Tournament 2019

Adjust Comment Print

Johnson, giving his club a forceful swing through the air, clunked the ball into the marker, proving that even major champions can make silly mistakes.

-Accidentally strikes the ball when making a practice swing or while preparing to make a stroke.

After the initial shock the Englishman said Johnson saw the amusing side. However, because the rules state a ball is not in play until after the tee shot, Johnson was able to re-tee it and hit away. "I actually hit a really good tee shot after that, so I think I recovered nicely".

Johnson, who need to make up some ground if he wants to keep pace with the rest of the field, can't keep sending wild shots into the stands and accidentally hitting the ball ten feet if he wants to stay in the hunt.

"Zach's eyes were as big as I've ever seen them".

Solskjaer confident Phelan will remain alongside him at United as No 2
We are Manchester United , even if they are Barcelona - we are Manchester United , and we play in the Champions League just like they do.

The 2007 Masters champ let out an "oh, s-t" after contact and turned to playing partners, Matt Kuchar and Ian Poulter, to find out what the protocol was.

"There's a first for everything boys", Johnson added. "Maybe I've tried to do it, but I don't think I could do it again even if I tried". He finished with a birdie on the par-5 13th, which moved him to 1 under on the afternoon. "I know there's supposedly footage of every shot hit here at Augusta this year, and I'm hoping to see that footage at some point".

"He doesn't let me forget many things", Johnson said, "But, hey, you get what you deserve".

"Only if I've been drinking", Kisner said.

Comments